Awards Season

Finalists for national awards announced

The top players from around the country will converge on Florida to see if they will take home a trophy at the Home Depot College Football Awards show.

And the nominees are:

Maxwell Award – Player of the Year
Melvin Gordon – RB – Wisconsin
Marcus Mariota – QB – Oregon
Dak Prescott – QB – Mississippi State
2013 Winner: AJ McCarron – QB – Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award – Defensive Player of the Year
Vic Beasley – DE – Clemson
Joey Bosa – DE – Ohio State
Scooby Wright – LB – Arizona
2013 Winner: Aaron Donald – Pitt

Davey O’Brien Award – Best Quarterback
Trevone Boykin – TCU
Marus Mariota – Oregon
Dak Prescott – Mississippi State
2013 Winner: Jameis Winston – Florida State

Doak Walker Award – Premier Running Back
Ameer Abdullah – Nebraska
Tevin Coleman – Indiana
Melvin Gordon – Wisconsin
2013 Winner: Andre Williams – Boston College

Biletnikoff Award – Outstanding Receiver
Amari Cooper – Alabama
Rashard Higgins – Colorado State
Kevin White – West Virginia
2013 Winner: Brandin Cooks – Oregon State

Outland Trophy – Outstanding Interior Lineman
Malcom Brown – DT – Texas
Reese Dismukes – C – Auburn
Brandon Scherff – OT – Iowa
2013 Winner: Aaron Donald – Pitt

Jim Thorpe Award – Best Defensive Back
Landon Collins – S – Alabama
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu – CB – Oregon
Gerod Holliman – S – Louisville
2013 Winner: Darqueze Dennard – CB – Michigan State

These awards and others will handed out Thursday December 11th on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s