College Football Hall of Famer continues to work

Hall of Fame University of Oklahoma football coach Barry Switzer has been named the recipient of the 14th annual Contributions to College Football Award presented by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

Switzer has been nicknamed the “King” in Oklahoma because of a 16-year run as head football coach from 1973-88 in which the Sooners claimed three national titles and won or tied for 12 Big Eight Conference championships.

Switzer rode the Wishbone offense to 10 New Year’s Day Bowl games and winning records in every season he coached in Norman.

While Switzer is renowned for his coaching and recruiting prowess, his community work outside of football in the Oklahoma City-Norman area is equally impressive.

Among his many charity efforts, he is an ardent supporter of Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and its far-reaching endeavors; for 40-plus years he has supported Special Olympics of Oklahoma and worked with kids with intellectual disabilities; he has been a strong proponent of “Swing for Sight,” a golf tournament that supports the visually impaired and blind. He lends his name and participates in many other charity events and community fund-raisers.

Switzer, 78, will accept the award on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards, airing live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta on Thursday, Dec. 10 at 7 p.m. ET.

The National College Football Awards Association has presented the award on the show since 2002 to recognize an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the sport. The winner of the award annually “has been closely associated with college football as a player, coach, administrator, media personality or other person attendant to the game.”

Previous winners of this NCFAA award are Darrell Royal (2002); Keith Jackson (2003), Vince Dooley (2004); Tom Osborne (2005); Chuck Neinas (2006); Frank Broyles (2007); Bobby Bowden (2008); LaVell Edwards (2009); Lee Corso (2010); Roy Kramer (2011); Ara Parseghian (2012); John Gagliardi (2013); and Grant Teaff (2014).

The National College Football Awards Association encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s