NFL Legends Captains Michael Irvin & Jerry Rice Assemble Pro Bowl Squads 

Teams for the NFL’s 2016 Pro Bowl presented by USAA were finalized Wednesday (January 27) during the nationally-televised primetime Draft Show special on ESPN2. All 88 Pro Bowl players were in attendance for the live show, which was held at the Army’s historic Wheeler Army Airfield in Hawaii.

Serving as NFL Legend team captains, Pro Football Hall of Famers MICHAEL IRVIN and JERRY RICE led the Draft selectionsfor their respective squads. Five-time Pro Bowler DARREN WOODSON (Team Irvin) and two-time Pro Bowler ERIC DAVIS (TeamRice), who were previously tabbed defensive co-captains, assisted Irvin and Rice in the selection process.

Prior to Wednesday’s show, initial selections for the 2016 Pro Bowl were made on Tuesday (January 26) by the NFL Legend teamcaptains. Rice won a coin toss at Tuesday’s press conference and elected to choose New York Giants WR ODELL BECKHAM,JR. and St. Louis Rams DT AARON DONALD, the active player captains, to help determine the roster as the first members of Team Rice.

Irvin was assigned Cincinnati Bengals DT GENO ATKINS and Atlanta Falcons RB DEVONTA FREEMAN, the other playersdesignated as active player captains. Irvin was also awarded the first selection in Tuesday’s pre-selection and Wednesday’s draftbecause Rice picked the active captain pairing.

In Tuesday’s pre-selection, 34 players (17 per team) were drafted from certain position groups – tackles, guards, centers, interiordefensive linemen, inside/middle linebackers, fullbacks, punters, kickers, return specialists and special teamers – and they wererevealed for the first time during ESPN2’s live show.

On Wednesday, Seattle Seahawks QB RUSSELL WILSON – a three-time Pro Bowler – was selected first overall by Team Irvin.Joining Wilson at the quarterback position for Team Irvin were QB JAMEIS WINSTON (Tampa Bay Buccaneers) and QB TEDDY BRIDGEWATER (Minnesota Vikings).

Team Rice selected New York Giants QB ELI MANNING with the draft’s second-overall selection. Rice also tabbed first-time ProBowlers Oakland Raiders QB DEREK CARR and Buffalo Bills QB TYROD TAYLOR.

Team Irvin took Atlanta Falcons WR JULIO JONES with the draft’s third-overall pick, while Oakland Raiders DE KHALIL MACK was selected fourth overall with Team Rice’s second choice.

Green Bay Packers OLB JULIUS PEPPERS, Cleveland Browns T JOE THOMAS and Oakland Raiders S CHARLES WOODSON – all making their ninth Pro Bowl appearances (the most among this year’s Pro Bowl players) – will play forTeam Rice.

Coaching Team Irvin will be the Green Bay Packers’ staff, led by WINSTON MOSS. (Packers head coach MIKE MCCARTHY willnot attend this week’s Pro Bowl because of a stomach illness. Doctors have advised McCarthy not to travel at this time.) The Kansas City Chiefs’ staff, led by head coach ANDY REID, will coach Team Rice.

The 2016 Pro Bowl presented by USAA will be played on Sunday, January 31 and televised live on ESPN at 7:00PM ET from Aloha Stadium in Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s