Unitas Award List Finalists

The 2016 list of candidates for the Golden Arm Award cut to 15

BALTIMORE, MD (10/13/16) — The initial Top 43 Watch List for The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in 2016 has been reduced to 15 of the country’s top college quarterbacks.

Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award – named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football – are:

  • J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
  • Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee
  • Luke Falk, Washington State
  • Chad Kelly, Ole Miss
  • Trevor Knight, Texas A&M
  • Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
  • Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State
  • Cooper Rush, Central Michigan
  • Seth Russell, Baylor
  • Zach Terrell, Western Michigan
  • Mitch Trubisky, North Carolina 
  • Greg Ward, Jr., Houston
  • Deshaun Watson, Clemson
  • Davis Webb, California

The Golden Arm Award is presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nations top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. These strong leaders have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and worked hard for themselves and their teams during the season and beyond.

“The Golden Arm Award considers character, citizenship, integrity, leadership, and honor – characteristics that were displayed by my father – to be every bit as important as the quarterback’s completion rate or number of touchdowns scored,” says John C. Unitas, Jr., President of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. “Despite my Dad’s outstanding accomplishments, he never forgot his humble beginnings and that won him a permanent place in the hearts of everyone who ever knew him,”

This season, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. has aligned itself with new and returning local partners. As a media partner, 120 Sports, the OTT network, will work to tell the stories that surround the selection of candidates, profiling their football career and community involvement.

In 2016, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, December 9, in Baltimore, MD. For the 2016 Golden Arm Award ceremony, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. is happy to be returning to The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand Historic Venue.

Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. The Foundation provides financial assistance to underprivileged and deserving young scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 touchdowns and throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) Last year’s winner Connor Cook, Michigan State.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s