Players Nominated for Rooney Sportsmanship Award


The 32 player nominees for the third annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of WARRICK DUNN, CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 16. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Last year, the players selected CHARLES WOODSON of the Oakland Raiders as the recipient of the 2015 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. LARRY FITZGERALD of the Arizona Cardinals was the inaugural winner of the award in 2014.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Arizona Cardinals DT Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons FB Patrick DiMarco
Baltimore Ravens G Marshal Yanda
Buffalo Bills DT Kyle Williams
Carolina Panthers TE Greg Olsen
Chicago Bears LB Sam Acho
Cincinnati Bengals WR A.J. Green
Cleveland Browns T Joe Thomas
Dallas Cowboys CB Brandon Carr
Denver Broncos LB DeMarcus Ware
Detroit Lions S Glover Quin
Green Bay Packers LB Julius Peppers
Houston Texans LB Brian Cushing
Indianapolis Colts RB Frank Gore
Jacksonville Jaguars LB Paul Posluszny
Kansas City Chiefs LB Derrick Johnson
Los Angeles Rams DE Robert Quinn
Miami Dolphins T Branden Albert
Minnesota Vikings CB Terence Newman
New England Patriots S Devin McCourty
New Orleans Saints T Zach Strief
New York Giants WR Victor Cruz
New York Jets WR Brandon Marshall
Oakland Raiders QB Derek Carr
Philadelphia Eagles RB Darren Sproles
Pittsburgh Steelers LB Arthur Moats
San Diego Chargers QB Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley
Seattle Seahawks WR Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee Titans QB Marcus Mariota
Washington Redskins QB Kirk Cousins


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s