SEC Leads the way with eight players on the 26-man first team

DALLAS (FWAA) – The 2016 FWAA All-America Team was announced on Monday by the Football Writers Association of America. The 26-man first team is led by the Southeastern Conference with eight selections. Top-ranked Alabama of the SEC led all schools with four players on the team, including Outland Trophy winner (best interior lineman) Cam Robinson and Nagurski Trophy winner Jonathan Allen (best defensive player).

For the fifth straight season, the announcement of the team, the second-longest continuously-published team in major college football, will be featured on SiriusXM Radio’s “College Football Nation.” A two-hour special hosted by Mark Packer and Matt Leinart airs today at 5 p.m. ET.

Also representing the 2016 FWAA All-America Team from Alabama, which is in the College Football Playoff semifinal against Washington at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, is linebacker Reuben Foster and defensive back Marlon Humphrey. The SEC’s other All-America players came from Auburn, LSU, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt.

There are two repeat first-team selections from the 2015 FWAA team: Texas A&M defensive end Myles Garrett and Florida State running back Dalvin Cook. Three other teams – PlayStation Fiesta Bowl-bound Ohio State, Florida State and Texas – each had two players on the first team.

The Mid-American Conference, a Group of Five league, produced two first-team FWAA All-Americans, including Western Michigan wide receiver Corey Davis, who will lead the Broncos against Wisconsin in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl on Jan. 2.

There were eight seniors, 10 juniors and eight sophomores selected to the first team. The conference breakdown for those players is as follows: SEC (8), ACC (5) Pac-12 (5), Big Ten (3) Big 12 (3), and Mid-American (2).

The FWAA’s All-America Committee selected this 73nd annual team based on nominations from the entire membership. This is just the fourth season in the modern era (post-1950) that the FWAA has named a second team.

For the second straight year, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield was named the quarterback of the second team. Michigan defensive back Jourdan Lewis also made the second team a second straight year. Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey, a first-team kick returner in 2015, is a second-team running back in 2016, and Iowa’s Desmond King, a first-team defensive back in 2015, is on the second team as a kick returner in 2016.

LSU, Oklahoma, Stanford, Washington and West Virginia each had two second-team selections. LSU, Oklahoma, Texas and Washington each had three players on the first and second teams combined.

Since 1945, the FWAA All-America Team has been among the five teams used to formulate the NCAA’s annual consensus All-America team, which will be announced later this week. Since the 2002 season, the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), The Associated Press, The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation have joined the FWAA as the five designated selectors by the NCAA.

The FWAA All-America Team was first selected in 1944, three years after the organization was formed. The FWAA’s inaugural team included Army’s Heisman Trophy tandem of Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis and Georgia Tech’s Frank Broyles, who later became Arkansas’ head football coach and athletic director.


QB Lamar Jackson, Louisville (6-3, 205, So., Pompano Beach, Fla.)
RB Dalvin Cook, Florida State (5-11, 213, Jr., Miami, Fla.)
RB D’Onta Foreman, Texas (6-1, 249, Jr., Texas City, Texas)
WR Corey Davis, Western Michigan (6-3, 213, Sr., Wheaton, Ill.)
WR Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (6-0, 176, Sr., Cameron, Texas)
TE Michael Roberts, Toledo (6-5, 270, Sr., Cleveland, Ohio)
OL Pat Elflein, Ohio State (6-3, 300, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio)
OL Cody O’Connell, Washington State (6-8, 354, Jr., Wenatchee, Wash.)
OL Ethan Pocic, LSU (6-7, 302, Sr., Lemont, Ill.)
OL Cam Robinson, Alabama (6-6, 310, Jr., Monroe, La.)
OL Connor Williams, Texas (6-6, 288, So., Coppell, Texas)

DL Jonathan Allen, Alabama (6-3, 291, Sr., Leesburg, Va.)
DL Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (6-5, 270, Jr., Arlington, Texas)
DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (6-2, 253, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga)
DL Christian Wilkins, Clemson (6-4, 310, So., Springfield, Mass.)
LB Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt (6-4, 230, Jr., Pinson, Ala.)
LB Reuben Foster, Alabama (6-1, 228, Sr., Auburn, Ala.)
LB Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (6-1, 205, Jr., East Orange, N.J.)
DB Budda Baker, Washington (5-10, 192, Jr., Bellevue, Wash.)
DB Malik Hooker, Ohio State (6-2, 205, Jr., New Castle, Pa.)
DB Marlon Humphrey, Alabama (6-1, 196, So., Hoover, Ala.)
DB Tarvarus McFadden, Florida State (6-2, 198, So., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

K Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State (6-1, 195, Sr., Deer Park, Texas)
P Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (6-2, 220, So., Gosnells, Australia)
KR Quadree Henderson, Pittsburgh (5-8, 190, So., Wilmington, Del.)
PR Adoreé Jackson, USC (5-11, 185, Jr., Belleville, Ill.)

Offense: QB Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma; RB Christian McCaffrey, Stanford; RB Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State; WR Zay Jones, East Carolina; WR John Ross, Washington; HB Curtis Samuel, Ohio State; OL Trey Adams, Washington; OL Orlando Brown, Oklahoma; OL Taylor Moton, Western Michigan; OL Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia; OL Ryan Ramczyk, Wisconsin.
Defense: DL Derek Barnett, Tennessee; DL Hunter Dimick, Utah; DL Ed Oliver, Houston; DL Solomon Thomas, Stanford; LB Kendell Beckwith, LSU; LB Ben Boulware, Clemson; LB Micah Kiser, Virginia; DB Rasul Douglas, West Virginia; DB Jourdan Lewis, Michigan; DB Jalen “Teez” Tabor, Florida; DB Tre’Davious White, LSU.
Specialists: K Daniel Carlson, Auburn; P Michael Dickson, Texas; KR Desmond King, Iowa; PR Christian Kirk, Texas A&M.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s