Open Door Policy

Every year, we just let ANYONE get in to the Hall of Fame

by Three Point Stance Managing Editor Brandon Rush | @BrandonRush

Every August, a new class gets enshrined into immortality with bronze busts in Canton, and every year there is at least a couple borderline guys who get in, who I believe shouldn’t be there.

Now that we are neck deep in the golden age of the NFL, the Pro Football Hall of Fame, its voters, and the NFL pander to its fanbase and put in any recognizable name just for the sake of ensuring they can get the most people to watch the induction ceremony and the years first preseason game.

2017 is no different.

Make no mistake, there are some incredibly worthy inductees, but this like many years in the past, have a few that should be on the outside looking in. This list will count down this years class from most-to-least deserving of induction.

Jerry Jones – Dallas Cowboys Owner
Jerry has had his moments where he was a pesky thorn in NFL’s saddle, had times where he has been a total douchebag, but more often than not has been a driving force in ensuring Dallas was “America’s Team”. But his impact on the game as a whole cannot be overlooked. His guidance has helped the league in marketing itself, has set the standard on modern day stadium management and construction, labor negotiations, television rights, and advertising.

No doubt that the NFL would exist had Jones not purchased the Cowboys in 1989, but the league would not be as prominent, profitable, or powerful without his expertise and insight.

LaDanian Tomlinson – Chargers Running Back
LT was an absolute game changer in a time of big backs. His ability to catch the ball out of the backfield ushered in a new era of multi-functional running backs, and his speed was just other worldly. The 2006 NFL MVP, Tomlinson scored 10+ touchdowns all nine seasons in San Diego, was a four time Pro-Bowler, and was a member of the All-Decade Team.

Though he played on some dreadful teams, he was a dynamic player and stands with the great Walter Payton as the only running backs in NFL history to rush for over 13,000 yards and have over 4,000 receiving yards, is third all time in touchdowns (trailing Jerry Rice and Emmitt Smith), and still holds the NFL record for most touchdowns scored in a single season (31).

Kurt Warner – Rams & Cardinals Quarterback
Warner’s story is the stuff of legend. From going undrafted, to bagging groceries part-time and playing in the Arena Football League, to NFL Europe (RIP), to being a two-time NFL Most Valuable Player and Super Bowl MVP. Behind his orchestration, the “Greatest Show on Turf” lit up defenses across the land en route to two Super Bowl appearances, only to return seven years later with the Arizona Cardinals.

Warner is the only player ever to throw for over 300 yards in three Super Bowls, and each of those games were absolute gems. The Rams won SB XXXIV over Tennessee when the Titans Kevin Dyson was stopped at the one yard line, lost SB XXXVI after scoring two touchdowns in the final ten minutes to tie the game before Adam Vinatieri kicked the Patriots Dynasty into existence, and then in SB XLIII Warner again led two touchdown drives in the final eight minutes only to lose the game on the Santonio Holmes toe tap touchdown. I still believe Holmes didn’t get both feet in, and yes I am still bitter.

Jason Taylor – Miami Dolphins
Before I sat down to write this, I scoured youtube for clips on Taylor, and to be perfectly honest I forgot how damn dominant Taylor was.

Six double-digit sack seasons, including a career high 18.5 in 2002, Taylor tallied more sacks than than anyone from 2000-2011. Member of the All-Decade Team, a six-time Pro Bowler and 2006 Defensive POY.

Kenny Easley – Seahawks Safety
I will plead ignorance on this one. Easley played seven seasons, most of which came before I knew what football was. The 1984 Defensive Player of the year, and member of the All-Decade Team.

Morten Andersen – Saints Kicker
The Great Dane played 25 seasons in the NFL.

Twenty. Five.

At one point the Denmark born kicker was the leading scorer in Saints AND Falcons history, and upon his retirement in 2008 left the game as the All-Time leader in games played, points scored, and game winning field goals.

Really? REALLY?!
Terrell Davis
Davis was instrumental in both Broncos Super Bowl runs in the late 90’s, and had one of the best seasons ever by a running back in the history of the game in 1998 when he scored 21 touchdowns and rushed for 2,008 yards. But those are literally the only items on his HOF resume. Granted, injuries hampered his ability to stay on the field his final three years in the league, but his career as a whole is not Hall of Fame worthy.

I wonder if TD didn’t work for the NFL Network, would he be a Hall of Famer? Considering players with MUCH more prolific numbers and impact on the game who weren’t/aren’t media darlings (see Terrell Owens, Edgerrin James, Roger Craig) that are still waiting on the call, it kind of makes you wonder what voters are looking for.

The list of guys who should be in that arent: Jerry Kramer, L.C. Greenwood, Terrell Owens, Roger Craig, Steve Atwater, Edgerrin James, Drew Pearson, Randall Cunningham

The list of guys who got in recently that shouldn’t be in: Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Aeneas Williams

The list of guys who should get in next year: Terrell Owens, Randy Moss, Ray Lewis, Brian Dawkins, Paul Tagliabue, Pat Bowlen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s