Unitas Award List Trimmed Down


The initial Top 47 Watch List for The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in 2017 has been reduced to 20 of the country’s top college quarterbacks.

The remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award have continued to demonstrate skill and talent that have catapulted them to the next level – named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football are:

  • J. T. Barrett, Ohio State
  • David Blough, Purdue
  • Jesse Ertz, Kansas State
  • Luke Falk, Washington State
  • Riley Ferguson, Memphis
  • Ryan Finley, NC State
  • Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi St.
  • Quinton Flowers, South Florida
  • Justice Hansen, Arkansas St.
  • Kenny Hill, TCU
  • Stephen Johnson, Kentucky
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
  • Trace McSorley, Penn St.
  • Josh Rosen, UCLA
  • Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State
  • Brandon Silvers, Troy
  • Nick Stevens, Colorado St.
  • Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
  • Mike White, Western Ky.
  • Logan Woodside, Toledo

The Golden Arm Award is presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation’s top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. These strong leaders have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and worked hard for themselves and their teams during the season and beyond.

“The Golden Arm Award considers character, citizenship, integrity, leadership, and honor – characteristics that were displayed by my father – to be every bit as important as the quarterback’s completion rate or number of touchdowns scored,” says John C. Unitas, Jr., President of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. “Despite my Dad’s outstanding accomplishments, he never forgot his humble beginnings and that won him a permanent place in the hearts of everyone who ever knew him,”

In 2017, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, December 8th, in Baltimore, MD. For the 2017 Golden Arm Award ceremony, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. is happy to be returning to the beautifully renovated Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand.

Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. The Foundation provides financial assistance to underprivileged and deserving young scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 touchdowns and throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) Last year’s winner Connor Cook (Michigan State,2015) Last year’s winner Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s