Rooney Award Nominees Named


The 32 player nominees for the fourth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of WARRICK DUNNCURTIS MARTINKARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 15. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Past recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award are FRANK GORE of the Indianapolis Colts (2016), CHARLES WOODSON of the Oakland Raiders (2015) and LARRY FITZGERALD of the Arizona Cardinals (2014).

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.




Arizona Cardinals

CB Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons

S Ricardo Allen

Baltimore Ravens

QB Joe Flacco

Buffalo Bills

LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers

LB Luke Kuechly

Chicago Bears

RB Benny Cunningham

Cincinnati Bengals

DE Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns

T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys

C Travis Frederick

Denver Broncos

LB Von Miller

Detroit Lions

DT Haloti Ngata

Green Bay Packers

S Morgan Burnett

Houston Texans

P Shane Lechler

Indianapolis Colts

WR T.Y. Hilton

Jacksonville Jaguars

LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs

QB Alex Smith

Los Angeles Chargers

TE Antonio Gates

Los Angeles Rams

G Rodger Saffold

Miami Dolphins

G Jermon Bushrod

Minnesota Vikings

DE Brian Robison

New England Patriots

WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints

QB Drew Brees

New York Giants

T Justin Pugh

New York Jets

QB Josh McCown

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles

TE Brent Celek

Pittsburgh Steelers

DE Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

DE Cliff Avril

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins

TE Vernon Davis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s