2019 High School Coach of the Year Nominees


The NFL announced the high school football coaches nominated by the 32 NFL teams for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award, representing the best at the high school level.

These coaches were recognized by their local NFL club for the prestigious award – named after Pro Football Hall of Famer DON SHULA, the winningest coach in NFL history – for their character, integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety and on-field success.

“There are so many coaches across the country who do such great work with their student athletes and I am truly honored to be selected for this prestigious award,” said 2018 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year winner GABE INFANTE upon receiving his award. “I am grateful to the NFL and the committee for my consideration.”

All Don Shula Award nominees are invited to attend the 2020 Pro Bowl in Orlando, FL and will be recognized in special ways during the NFL’s week-long celebration of football. Throughout the week, coaches will receive VIP access and accommodations at various events such as Pro Bowl practices and the Play Football High School Skills Showdown, a chance to interact and engage with various members of the football community and attend the Pro Bowl. Each coach will also have an opportunity to invite a senior on their roster to participate in the Skills Showdown to represent their high school football community.

Two finalists will each receive $15,000 from the NFL Foundation, $10,000 of which will go to their high school’s football program. They will also attend Super Bowl LIV in Miami as special guests of the NFL.

The Don Shula Award winner will be announced during the 2020 Pro Bowl, airing Sunday, Jan. 26 at 3 PM ET on ESPN and ESPN Deportes, and simulcast on ABC and Disney XD – the third time the game will be available on both broadcast and cable networks. The winner will also be recognized and walk the red carpet at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Saturday, Feb. 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV.

The Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year winner is selected by a panel of distinguished individuals:

  • Pro Football Hall of Fame President DAVID BAKER
  • Former Dallas Cowboys Personnel Director and NFL.com contributor GIL BRANDT
  • ​Super Bowl XLIV winner and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member MARK BRUNELL
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame coach and current NBC analyst TONY DUNGY
  • Executive Director of USA Football SCOTT HALLENBECK
  • 3-time Super Bowl Champion (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX) and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member WILLIE MCGINEST
  • 2x AP NFL Comeback Player of the Year, current head coach at the Sayre School (Lexington, Kentucky) and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member CHAD PENNINGTON
  • Pro Football Hall of Famer, Coach DON SHULA – the winningest coach in NFL history

Below is a full list of the 2019 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees.




Arizona Cardinals

Jason Mohns

Saguaro High School

Atlanta Falcons

Matt Land

Dalton High School

Baltimore Ravens

Justin Payne

Parkville High School

Buffalo Bills

Bobby Bates

McQuaid Jesuit

Carolina Panthers

Jamie Nickles

Abbeville High School

Chicago Bears

Mike Noll

Richmond-Burton High School

Cincinnati Bengals

Pat McLaughlin

LaSalle High School

Cleveland Browns

Steve Trivisonno

Mentor High School

Dallas Cowboys

George Teague

John Paul II High School

Denver Broncos

Rob Busmente

Sterling High School

Detroit Lions

Jim Ahern

Lansing Catholic High School

Green Bay Packers

Mike Minick

DeForest High School

Houston Texans

Todd McVey

Tompkins High School

Indianapolis Colts

Kyle Ralph

New Palestine High School

Jacksonville Jaguars

Damenyum Springs

Fleming Island High School

Kansas City Chiefs

William Lowe

Lincoln College Prep

Los Angeles Chargers

Mil’von James

Inglewood High School

Los Angeles Rams

Paul Knox

George Washington Prep

Miami Dolphins

Eddie Frasier

Dillard High School

Minnesota Vikings

Lambert Brown

Wayzata High School

New England Patriots

Andrew MacKay

Ashland High School

New Orleans Saints

Robert Valdez

St. James High School

New York Giants

Barris Grant

Hillside High School

New York Jets

Nga Warren

Samuel J. Tilden Educational Campus

Philadelphia Eagles

Dwayne Savage

Camden High School

Pittsburgh Steelers

Bill Cherpak

Thomas Jefferson High School


Rich Muraco

Liberty High School

San Francisco 49ers

Mike Machado

Valley Christian High School

Seattle Seahawks

Bill Beattie

Tumwater High School

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

TaVaris Johnson

Lake Wales Charter High School

Tennessee Titans

Shawn Witten

Elizabethton High School

Washington Redskins

Joe Jones

Ocean Lakes High School

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s